Delegates at the National Convention of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have dissolved its National Working Committee (NWC) and National Executive Council (NEC), in Port Harcourt on Saturday.
The decision to dissolve the Party’s NWC and NEC and set up a seven-man Caretaker Committee, was moved by Chief Austin Opara, a former Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives and seconded by another former Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Emeka Ihedioha,
The seven-man caretaker committee which had three months to organise a new National Convention to elect new national officers is chaired by Sen. Ahmed Makarfi, a former governor of Kaduna State, while Sen. Ben Obi is the secretary, other members of the committee are Alhaja Aisha Aliyu, Sen. Odion Ugbesie, Sen. Abdul Ningi, Mr Kabir Usman and Mr Dayo Adeyeye .
Members of the committee were barred from contesting any position in the next convention.
The Rivers State Governor and Chairman of the party`s National Convention Committee, Chief Nyesom Wike had asked if the party’s NWC and NEC should be dissolved, and the motion was affirmed by the delegates.
The convention also approved another motion to set aside decisions taken by the NWC to zone the party’s presidential candidate for 2019 election to the north.
This motion, moved by Dr Babangida Aliyu, a former governor of Niger State was seconded by Gov. Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State.

You might also Like:  Buhari orders compulsory treatment for gunshot victims, signs gunshot bill, five others into laws

You may also Like